Train Crazy

Photo by Osvaldo Zoom

Photo by Osvaldo Zoom

This morning, I discovered that Pandora has a Traditional Celtic station which meant I immediately got to hear bagpipe music which (few people know this) makes me INCREDIBLY EMOTIONAL. I know, I know- it’s weird because I’m not exactly the type of person who’s supposed to cry during bagpipe songs, ie I’m not eighty years old. I’m not even Scottish, for God’s sake. Still, it just kills me.

Know what else kills me? Trains. Over the past two years, I have developed a serious affection for train travel.

Euro Star

Euro Star

Picture 2I was flipping through this month’s Vanity Fair (and may I just suggest that Vanity Fair give Jackie Kennedy a rest, already? I would also like to implore that America, as a whole, would chill out regarding Michael Jackson and The Beatles while we’re at it. Rock Band-Michael Jackson will surely be next and I’ll HAVE TO MOVE TO CANADA) and there was a two-page spread on exotic International train travel.

Royal Canadian Pacific

Royal Canadian Pacific

I immediately emailed Little (my go-to travel buddy) who I’m pretty sure rolled her eyes because our last trip was a train trip, one that took us from LA to Denver (we were supposed to take the last leg from Denver to Chicago but it was canceled because of massive flooding) and escapes included, no exaggeration:

– Having dinner with a couple who were The Dullest People On Earth until we learned about their obsession with their pet rabbits (although one of their rabbits was named ‘Bagel’, leading me to eventually name my dog Charlie Bagel- look at the fun facts you’re learning today).

Rovos Rail

Rovos Rail

– Witnessing a woman have a total breakdown because she didn’t realize the food served at the snack bar & dining car didn’t live up to her HIGHLY nutritious standards and so at the next stop, she walked outside and picked an ARMFUL OF DIRTY DANDELIONS and then asked the waiter in the dining car for a packet of Italian dressing so she could eat her disgusting platform salad. Instead of, you know, a bag of Baked Lays. Because THAT would’ve been insane.

– Sharing the car with a group of high-school theater kids and watching the boys and girls interact with each other for hours and the levels of awkward were so high that I basically wanted to crawl out of my own skin just to avoid watching it, oh my God the torture.

Orient Express

Orient Express

– Um, and also the fact that the leg from San Francisco to Denver took about fourteen hours-straight on the train and included us sleeping in our seats. Needless to say, we were kind of not that disappointed when our 24 hour leg from Denver to Chicago was summarily canceled. In fact, we pretty much skipped the whole way to the Denver airport.

rovosrail2

All of these are valid reasons why Little has every reason to be leery of another train trip and they’re also the reasons why I would LOVE to do it all again. I can’t help it. I just love love LOVE trains. I think it’s the most brilliant way to travel- it’s romantic and the scenery is beautiful and it’s far less stressful than driving and the old-fashioned charm of traveling by train just thrills me. I do, I love them. Be still my heart for the old locomotives.

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Train Crazy

  1. I loooove train travel as well. When I was studying in Paris, I took the TGV to the south of France all by my little self, and it really was one of the most memorable experiences of my life. Your post made me miss Europe!

    xo Katherine aka. Urban Flea 🙂

  2. Tami says:

    I love trains, too! Maybe when your book is published, you can plan a cross-country book tour by train. Sort of like when Clinton was campaigning. I would totally tag along for a leg of it, for your people-watching commentary, if nothing else. 🙂

    Tami

Leave a Reply

