I Heart September

I do. Do you think that’s weird? As a kid, I loved September too. I LOVED going back to school.

Photo by Claudia Snell (Flickr)

Photo by Claudia Snell (Flickr)

I loved new notebooks and colorful pens and buying calculators and protractors and binders and folders with cartoon characters on them. I loved that weird feeling when you’d start writing your name again and your hand would be all crampy and weird because it’s basically been three months since you’ve contorted your hand into a writing position (oh, if little me could see big me. There’s no end to the writing now).

"Apples to Apples" by serend1p1tyx (Flickr)

"Apples to Apples" by serend1p1tyx (Flickr)

"Fall Foliage" by Slack12 (Flickr)

"Fall Foliage" by Slack12 (Flickr)

Photo by Jennifer Leigh (Flickr)

Photo by Jennifer Leigh (Flickr)

I still love September. I find myself excited that August is drawing to a close. August is, after all, filled with that feeling of “Summer’s almost over.” It’s a month of Sundays. And September means so much more… That’s right, this is why I moved to Chicago. In LA, I never could get this riled up for “fall.”

This entry was posted in Etc.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

