Focus

I've succeeded in boring Liv Tyler

I've succeeded in boring Liv Tyler

How do you stay focused? Being unemployed and having gobs, and I do mean GOBS, of time on my hands has led me to experiment with different means of productivity.

Two weeks ago, I was on the Quota System which meant I had to edit a certain number of pages a day to reach my goal. As my goal was “Finish editing by May 31st” and it is now June 2nd, I am forced to revisit the Quota System and make some adjustments (which, I believe, is a planet next to the Degoba System and now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go polish my nerd glasses and write a scathing hate mail letter to George Lucas).

This week, in case you’re wondering, I’m going on a Rewards System with a dash of the Quota System, ie I need to edit a certain number of pages before I can even check my email. That’s right- the INTERWEB has become my reward. And so far, Day 1 is working. I filled my page quota by one o’clock which is UNHEARD OF. The fact that I managed to keep myself from blog reading and my gmail is, in short, MIRACULOUS. I will celebrate by eating a whole bowl of guacamole (cheers, Lindsey’s mom!).

NOTE**: My God, this post is dull. Well, I’m sorry. Editing is dull. The book process is dull. If you wanted a glimpse into the glamorous world of unpublished novel writing, well this is your golden ticket.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

