Spring Cleaning

I found some culinary inspiration over at Decorology today in a post about the Spring cleaning of your kitchen.  Look at these gorgeous and inspirational kitchens.  I love the antique mirror on the exposed gray brick.

main-14

Being a huge fan of organized chaos (striving daily for the “organized” half of the equation) I find this shelf particularly soothing.

main-81

And this exposed cupboard – who’s got a mess to hide? Not I!

main-6

I thought I’d instead work on the spring cleaning of my diet.  I finally got around to reading French Women Don’t Get Fat which I found to be less an exercise in American self-flagellating than a real appreciation for the simple French meal.  To commence this new way of eating, I started with author Mireille Guiliano’s leek soup.  leeks-1

I’ve eaten more delicious fruits than I have in years, put real cream in my coffee (so that’s what it’s supposed to taste like!) relished in toasted croissants, and can honestly say I’ve indulged in every meal. She encourages us to put some ceremony back into our meal – like walking to the market daily (so much better than mindlessly running on a treadmill, non?) It’s a good re-read for anyone who’s been on the self-deprivation wagon since New Years.

Food is good. time to celebrate.

This entry was posted in Food, Interior Design and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring Cleaning

  1. Semaphore says:

    Ooh, have you read Fat is a Feminist Issue by Susie Orbach? that is an excellent book, and also encourages one to enjoy one’s meal.

    And yes, I agree, food is brilliant, and should be appreciated. Diets are joyless and soul-destroying (and don’t work).

  2. Karen says:

    LOVE that first picture! Wish my kitchen was half as amazing. I’ve heard alot about the French Woman book, maybe it’s time to invest 🙂

  3. Amen. And the beauty of it is that it really works.

  4. thecreme says:

    Thanks for the recommendation, Semaphore, I will check it out! I just finished the Omnivore’s Dilemma and that book totally makes you think about the meal in a different light.

    Karen, I know – that mirror and brick combo is amazing.

Leave a Reply

