When I’m Wrong, I Say I’m Wrong*

* Not the last time I’ll be quoting Dirty Dancing on this blog. Fair warning. I’m sure Cones is sitting in her hut right now, engrossed in some very thick books about foreign policy and shaking her head at me.

ollie_small3So, a few weeks ago, back when I was stewing in single bitterness over the fascism of Valentine’s Day, I mentioned that all the recent romantic comedies of late are incredibly depressing offerings of one-dimensional women who, quite simply, pretty much live and breath to get married and spawn the next generation of one-dimensional women who, also, just want to get married. I had Jane Fonda over for Bloody Marys this morning and she agrees this world is going to hell in a hand basket. Then we talked about how awesome Allison Janney is. All in all, a solid morning.

I’m happy to report that others agree with me on this front. Specifically, Entertainment Weekly’s movie reviewer Lisa Schwarzbaum who, in their Feb. 20th issue, pretty much echoed my sentiments word for word in her article “Why I Love (And Hate) Chick Flicks.” Granted, she was slightly more eloquent. And paid to write it. I’m sure the comparisons don’t stop there but I’m getting depressed so let’s move on.

So what was I wrong about? Well, I automatically included Sandra Bullock’s newest venture “All About Steve” in the mix and, granted, I saw the trailer and drew my own conclusions. However, I am happy to report that in this month’s InStyle, Sandra had this to say about her new movie and it gave me a little ray of hope for the future of my gender.

020509_bullock07_400x400

Bullock plays Mary Horowitz, a constantly chirping, ceaselessly optimistic crossword-puzzle creator whose ever-present red patent leather boots complete her quirky style. The character- irritating until you fall in love with her- wasn’t an easy sell to the studio heads, but Bullock fought for her. “People wanted the character to be more likable, but that’s not the point of the film,” explains Bullock of Mary, who drops everything to seek our her crush, played by [Bradley] Cooper, across the country- but finds her own happiness along the way. “There’s a bit of Mary in all of us.”

I’d like to end by saying that I love Sandra Bullock. I went so far in my love of Sandra Bullock as to steal that issue of InStyle from my friend Liz’s house, even though reading InStyle after months of reading Vogue is kind of like suddenly switching from Anna Karenina to Highlights magazine. I actually can’t think of anyone who doesn’t love Sandra Bullock (I’m sure my friend Michael has something against her though. Any second now, I’ll get an email confirming this… any second now) And, despite my histronics, I will probably end up seeing not one but both of her new movies in the theater, despite my cash-strapped state (I’ll take out a loan if I have to. We’re talking about Bradley Cooper AND a Bullock- Ryan Reynolds combo here and I just can’t resist. I’m only human, people. PS Jane, want to come?).

This entry was posted in Film. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When I’m Wrong, I Say I’m Wrong*

  1. Karen says:

    Ryan Reynolds is hard to pass up, can’t blame you…

    Its good to hear that this is more interesting than it appeared!!

  2. thecreme says:

    Have to say I’m not that big a fan of Ms. B. I just never feel like I can get next to her characters somehow.

    Allison Janney, is however, maybe my favorite actress of all time.

Leave a Reply

