Foodie, tootie, fresh and fruity

cones_small15Ollie, Ollie, Ollie – those are just about the tastiest looking croissants I’ve ever seen onscreen.  Which reminds me, weren’t you supposed to teach me how to bake bread before I moved 10,000 miles away?  I’ve been eating nothing but Texas Toast since I moved to Japan (pause for reflection – they serve texas toast in Japan). It’s just not the same as good old fashioned home-baked bread. My foodie sensibilities can only take so much American-imitation food. Or Japanese-style “mexican” food.  I don’t quite understand why, but they prefer Mayonnaise to Sour Cream on Mexican dishes. The menu even states “if you would prefer sour cream on your food, prease bring your own.”  I’m not kidding here, there are no “L’s” in the alphabet, so they straight up substitute “R’s” for “L’s”.  Much like the mayo-sour cream switch, it just isn’t the same.

As long we’re in the mexican cupboard, I made this amazing Fourth of July Roasted Tomato Salsa from 101 Cookbooks for a party tonight – its really full-bodied and tex-mex-y.

salsarecipe_07

Before you tell me to check my calender – let me just say that it’s about 80 degrees and smoldering here. In February.  Seriously, where the hell am I.

On the topic of stealing recipes, have you ever listened to the Splendid Table on Sunday afternoons on NPR?  The show is available as a podcast at The Splendid Table for download.

splendid_table

The Splendid Table is just about the most scintillating, tantalizing podcast out there. The host, Lynne Rossetto Kasper is the one-woman culinary google.  She interviews the whole spectrum of foodies – from experts of French goat cheese to wine to 4 star chefs to short-order cooks who make the best dry rub in the south. I like to turn it on around the house when I’m feeling domestic or when I’m looking for a really good reason to blow my diet. Have a listen here.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Foodie, tootie, fresh and fruity

  1. ollieoof says:

    I LOVE The Splendid Table. Though I wouldn’t recommend listening to Lynne on a twelve hour car ride from Chicago to New York in the dead of winter. Her voice is a little too soothing, ie I almost nodded off and drove into a meridian.

  2. I live for texas toast! Shokupan, right? I make a point of going to the Japanese supermarket here to buy it. For me, it’s right up there with a really good baguette.

  3. thecreme says:

    f.t.r.b., You’re so funny! Okay, you’re right, the texas toast is pretty good, but I am more of a buttery crust girl. I’m sure I’d get Texas toast every now and then even if it wasn’t THE ONLY THING ON THE MENU.

Leave a Reply

