I think I’m turning Japanese I really think so.

cones_small4 Hubby and I are coming up upon our 1 year anniversary, and have yet to go on a honeymoon. It’s a long story. Basically, hubs works for the government, and we live on a tiny island in Japan. There was a curfew put in place the month we got married where Americans were not allowed to patronize Japanese establishments or sleep anywhere but our own homes because of some international tension.spaceball-4 Cause you know how those just-married couples are a menace to society.

So we went to the justice of the peace and then we went home.  Now, I’m not huge on the festivities that accompany the traditional American $25K+ ho-down that sanctifies a couple’s love, but I was just a wee bit ticked that I had to spend my wedding night on my couch.  And you’ve seen the couch.  It ain’t pretty.

However, I have NO PROBLEMS with the honeymoon portion of the wedding equation.  I mean, who would? Hence, this Saturday, Kyoto we come!

Now that I think about it, this is actually the FIRST VACATION WE’VE TAKEN ALONE.  Ever.  All of our other trips have included caravans of friends, or the destination has been the couch and floor at one of our parents.  I feel so grown up.

kyoto_2

[here]

We may be a tad bit early for the cherry blossoms, but it was 80 degrees here yesterday, so here’s hopin’.

kyoto_11

[here]

kyoto_3

[here]

How cool is this?  Hiking through the bamboo forest at night?

kyoto_10[here]

kyoto_5

[here]

I wonder if Kyoto girls are as fashion conscious as Tokyo girls?

kyoto_9

[here]

And lord knows, if there is an ex-pat British or Aussie pub anywhere within sniffing distance of our Ryokan hotel, the hubs will find it.  Actually, that’s one of my favorite things to do in foreign countries – find the ex-pats – because they are generally really cool kids and know where the fun is. 

kyoto_7

[here]

kyoto_8

[here]

I hope my photos turn out as beautiful as these.

This entry was posted in Art/Photography, International and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I think I’m turning Japanese I really think so.

  1. Devon says:

    I love Kyoto. I travel there frequently…but that is a story for another time. I’ll be interested in hearing about your Ryokan hotel. We are always at the Hyatt Kyoto. It is beautiful but has an Italian restaurant in the lobby. ‘Nuff said.

    If you haven’t ever seen it before, check out the Kyoto train station. It’s awesome architecturally.

    Can’t wait to hear about your trip Happy honeymoon!!!

Leave a Reply

