Sing Out, Louise

ollie_small1I have decided that if I’m going to be unemployed, I might as well make a list of every annoying thing I mean to do but wouldn’t be able to do if I had a full time job.

This included, over the last few weeks, renewing my passport, scrubbing my apartment for 6 1/2 straight hours and studying for my DMV test so I can finally get an Illinois license. It also means that every day I’m attacking a new area of my apartment, cleaning out drawers and closets like a madwoman, rummaging through old files and basically getting rid of anything I absolutely, positive do not need in this lifetime.

It feels pretty good, I have to say. Especially shaking off the inherited pack-rat traits I’ve inherited from my mother, the ones that dictate that I need to save every single card a person has given or sent me since 1998. Although it’s been tough, I’m not going to lie. Although I filled about four trash bags for the recycle bin, I just couldn’t part with my friends’ old business cards. They’ve turned out to serve as a telling road map of our early twenties.

A few of my favorite things and inspirations, the ones that make my organized soul sing.

tote

How many journals do you have? As a writer, I have roughly a GAZILLION. It’s the go-to gift if you’re a writer and I have the empty volumes to prove it. Now at least I can keep them in this precious tote from Ekohdesign on Etsy and swoon over them instead of cursing the fact that I am just not cut out for journal-writing. (And if you know a writer and are wondering what to get them, look up their address and find a fun neighborhood bookstore and get them a gift certificate. So much better, trust me.)

stunning-organised-craft-roomIf I am ever on Inside the Actors Studio and James Lipton asks me what turns me on, I’m going to hand him a photo of this, courtesy of Orangebloom. I’m not kidding. I’ll follow up with, “My favorite word is ‘collate” and that when I arrive at the pearly gates, God will say, “Welcome, my child, to heaven.” And it’ll turn out heaven is The Container Store and I’ll dance around ala Homer in the land of chocolate.

a98678_0501_planters_xlTea Time! A place for everything and everything in its place. Decorology nails it (and oh, yeah, so do you Martha Stewart. Whoever you are.)

752250945_200136cf3e

Love the colors of this room, love the function, love, love, love you, Lorajean.

0109_cover-image_180

I pretty much NEED Real Simple now. I’ll have to break it to my other 8 magazine subscriptions that we’ll be adding to our family soon. We’re like the Jolie-Pitts over here.

This entry was posted in Home Goods, Interior Design. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sing Out, Louise

  1. Dana says:

    I love tea and everything related to it!

    Lovely pics!

  2. thecreme says:

    You’re so positive Ol, any chance you can get your buns over here and organize my studio?

  3. ollieoof says:

    Oh God. I would do anything for you except that. I’ve seen how you live.

  4. themoonisdown says:

    omg, I’m swooning over all this deliciousness! Milk glass, robins egg blue, storage… be still my beating heart.

    ps thanks SO much for featuring us in the daily bite, you are TOO kind!

    themoonisdown
    letterstotwilight.com

  5. Kari says:

    Go, Ollie, go! I am a huge fan of storage containers (since I live in a very small ring box that itself lives inside a very small shoe box) and could easily have “Real Simple” tattooed on my backside (tho I would never tell).

    Also, I will take the “Gypsy” title as a shout-out to me, regardless of its actual inspiration.

    Best of luck to you!

  6. I know themoonisdown already thanked you for featuring us as the daily bite, but I had to comment to b/c your site is SO adorable (i want everything I see.. i’m totally coveting everything!!!!)

    Thanks again!
    ❤ unintendedchoice
    letterstotwilight.com

  7. Florence says:

    Hey would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working
    with? I’m planning to start my own blog in the
    near future but I’m having a hard time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most
    blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S My apologies
    for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  8. Mathew says:

    Hi Dear, are you in fact visiting this web page daily,
    if so after that you will without doubt obtain good knowledge.

  9. Marita says:

    What’s up to all, it’s in fact a fastidious for me to visit this website, it contains valuable Information.

  10. Julio says:

    I dont see why people go on and on about content, a blog with no inbound links still wont perform well
    Are you active on any social sites

  11. shopping says:

    We are a gaggle of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our
    community. Your web site provided us with valuable info to work
    on. You have performed an impressive activity and our entire group will probably be grateful to
    you.

Leave a Reply

