The Best Kind

Dear Petunia Face,

We seem to be in the same position, you and I. Ok, not really. Yes, we’re both out of work in a desperate economy but you have a husband and a baby and a mortgage and I have a dog that apparently can live on $20 worth of kibble for three months and all the snow he can chew. It’s not really the same position, I grant you that. Still, your posts since your lay off have pretty much been echoing every hollow, scary feeling rattling around in my midsection and since we seem to be stuck in the same rotting canoe, I’m going to share something with you, something that’s helped.

This might be completely subjective- it could have something to do with all those years of turning to Three’s Company reruns when I was home sick from school, when my pale face being smushed against the couch meant two whole hours of Little House and then right into Jack’s latest misunderstanding with Janet and Chrissy. It could have something to do with my genetic make up, my mother’s infatuation with That Girl which married my father’s appreciation for the Dick Van Dyke Show. Maybe it’s my nostalgic heart or my soft spot for polyester. I have no idea.

All I know is that Mary Tyler Moore is helping. I don’t know why. I was never that big of a fan before (quite frankly, I thought the “Oh, Rob” crying jags were annoying). But there are a bunch of episodes on Hulu.com and reruns on the TV and for some reason, it’s helping. Maybe it has something to do with those bolstering lyrics from the first season theme song. “How will you make it on your own? This world is awfully big…”

For some reason, these people are helping...

For some reason, these people are helping...

Maybe it has something to do with the lightness of her hair or her sunny smile or that spectularly ’70s wardrobe. I don’t know what it is but it’s awfully comforting. I thought maybe you’d like to give it a try. You never know what will help, life is funny that way. Your whole life you’ve been a Rhoda and suddenly you find yourself wishing you were Mary Richards- hopeful, bright and thoroughly loved.

marytylermooreshowjpeg

Anyway, you’re very busy and I’ll understand if the reply is “Uh, yeah, no thanks.” But I just wanted you to know that I’m feeling it too and there are moments, fleeting ones, when everything feels a little bit lighter.

Sincerely,

Me

PS Good luck on the book- I’m sure it will be brilliant.

This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Best Kind

  1. Kari says:

    Oh, Ollie. My roommate and I used to watch reruns of MTM on Nick at Nite in the mid-’90s, when I lived in Madison, and one time my father called and he was watching the same thing, and we were both quiet on the phone for a little while and we laughed at the same lines from miles apart, and finally he said, “Don’t you just love that Lou Grant?”

    Thank you for reminding me. And my very best wishes to you.

  2. Karen says:

    Good luck with your search! I’ve never seen the show, and I’m not out of work at the moment, but that theme song picked me up anyway 🙂

  3. Susannah says:

    Dear Creme,
    Can I call you Creme? Or do you prefer Ms. Mode?

    Anyhoo, thank you for the suggestion. I have never really watch MTM but last week I caught an Oprah in which the entire cast was on and Oprah waxed nostalgic. And you’re right–it did make me feel better though I can’t quite place my finger on why.

    Perhaps when we both get a job–and we will–we can post photos of us tossing our hats up in the air.

    Thank you for the good wishes. And for reading my blog. Kisses to your pooch, too.
    xo,
    Susannah

  4. Marc says:

    That picture of Cloris, Mary, and Val fit perfectly as my iPod Touch wallpaper! They’re looking straight into the future, bright and excited. Good find and inspiring!

Leave a Reply

