Dearly, My Beloved

fnl32

I am not a football fan. Indeed, I would probably rather do a number of cringe-worthy things when faced with the option of sitting through an entire football game- like watch a marathon of Last Call With Carson Daly or cook liver and then eat it or walk through one of those wild bird atriums (ok, maybe not. I really am terrified of birds).

So no one was more surprised than I was when, two years ago, I reluctantly agreed to give the show “Friday Night Lights” a try and then fell so hard for it, so head over heels in love with it, that NBC’s decision to float the ratings-challenged show over to DirectTV left me heartbroken, standing on my front lawn next to my Dillon Panthers sign, football helmut in hand, single tear. My heart will remain in Dillon, TX until the show returns to network television in 2009.

Until then, I implore you to the give the show a try. You can watch all of seasons 1 & 2 for free on Hulu.com (it’s FREE- can’t beat that). Better yet, rent Season 1 on Netflix or Blockbuster and treat yourself to a marathon viewing. I am so positive that you’ll enjoy it that I will REIMBURSE you for the rental fee if you aren’t immediately emotionally invested in Coach Taylor, his boys and the women who love them. I will then use my unemployment money to fly to your house and sit in your living room and demand to know exactly how you failed to fall in love with these characters. Characters like Matt Saracen, the sweet-eyed quiet kid next door who’s saddled with a missing mom, a dad in Iraq and caring for his senile grandma, surviving high school, a part-time job, falling in love with the coach’s daughter and now facing the daunting task of going from second-string nobody to taking over as quarterback after superstar Jason Street becomes paralyzed from the waist down. Did I mention that high school football is pretty much the lifeblood of their small town and the crushing, absolutely mind-blowing pressure of blowing even a single game?

 

I don’t really think there’s anything left to say. Except please save “Friday Night Lights.” I’ll be your best friend.

This entry was posted in Etc. and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dearly, My Beloved

  1. Kari says:

    Amen! I love this show I love this show I love this show. Matt Saracen is one my favorite characters in the history of characters, and ooh that Kyle Chandler. Absolutely the most gorgeous cast on TV. I’m so looking forward to its return.

  2. Sara says:

    You’ve just inspired me to dig out my Season 1 DVDs in prep for the new seasons. It can’t come quickly enough.

Leave a Reply

