Landslide

I’ve always been exceptional at comforting myself. It’s a vital skill when you consider yourself a solitary soul, which now sounds a bit silly to me considering the calls and emails and notes I’ve been routinely receiving as of late, but still- in the quiet parts of the day when the dog is asleep and the phones are still and I am very, very alone, it’s a skill I’m undeniably grateful for, the ability to stare into stillness with a sense of peace instead of sadness.

The last few weeks have tested that, for sure, which is why I’m so grateful for the things I’ve found that bring me comfort today. The right kind of comfort and, yes, there is a wrong kind. Wrap yourself in enough blankets, eat enough mac & cheese and you can start to sink. What you need is the kind that serves to bolster and buffer, that carries with it lightness and quiet and hope.

Things that have been bringing me comfort lately- Amelie, Mary Tyler Moore reruns, baked goods spiced with cinnamon and ginger, John Denver, to name a few.

I’m also delighting in both new finds and new appreciation for old friends.3038843069_e8fff5dd7a_o

Polaroids, snapshots and photobooth adventures from Hula Seventy

All Tomorrow's Parties

All Tomorrow's Parties

The instant gratification of rapid-fire quotes, pictures, and musings from Unicornology that never cease to bring me pause…

17558944_p

The Alice in Wonderland world of Cherry Blossom Girl

16_zshoon

Susannah’s way with words on Petunia Face

What comforts you? I’m greedy for more. If you know of any sites, artists, books or movies that’ll do the trick, drop me a note.

This entry was posted in Art/Photography, Fashion, Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Landslide

  1. P. says:

    Hang in there, dollface. Things will get better.

    Until they do, there is always Lolita, Tatielle, and Peonies and Polaroids (links are on my blog).

  2. ollieoof says:

    You’re an angel, Persephone, thanks. Please continue your important work of sharing pics of adorable animals with the world and I will continue to squeal and clap at the sight of them.

  3. Susannah says:

    Oh! Thank you so much! Now that you call out my way with words I seem to have none. Just thank you. Pure and simple–you made my day.

Leave a Reply

