The Big Fade

I’m gonna do a little skin care shout out. Let me preface this by saying that I’m not a big product girl.  I’m just too cheap.  Also, I have the worst skin care history.  Basically, until my very late 20’s I didn’t know that skin care was a thing.  Didn’t wash my face one day in college.  Just discovered sunscreen this year (that subtropic sun will kill ya).  But last summer, my girl Natalia showed up at my door and her skin was looking a little pink, a little irritated actually.  She’s been to all the dermy’s and she had found a plastic surgeon who finally was making a difference with her skin.  I had never been to a dermatologist, so I thought I’d give it a shot.  My golden-brown California girl tans had been fading into basically brown spots on my face.  I kept kidding myself, saying they were freckles, when I was starting to look a little Gorbachev-esque.  You know what I’m talking about – the light brown blotches around on your forehead and cheeks.  I hadn’t realized how old it made me look.

I also was not a believer in the power of potions.  There is so much BS in beauty marketing that I just pretty much accepted that this was the way my skin was going.  I never had to deal with acne in my teens so I figured that the late 20’s spottiness was God’s great equalizer.

Thankfully for me (and all of you) I was wrong.  Dr. Raffi at KARE prescribed me the OBAGI Skin Care line and I can’t even tell you the difference it made on my skin.  You have to be extremely careful with the sun, basically, never go in it ever again (or wear some steep ‘screen). But it is totally worth it to me.  If you’re not in LA, you can go to Dr. Obagi’s website and find a doctor near you.  It literally washed 8 years off my skin.

This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Big Fade

  1. Cynthia says:

    Okay, I used this stuff forever, and it does work, BUT, if you use it with Retin-A as recommended, your skin literally peels off for months —- and never stops. I had to go in hiding for about a month or longer.
    It’s almost like a chemical peel. Think about it, if you take the whole top layer of your skin off, of course it will eventually look nice. But the peeling doesn’t stop… I finally decided it wasn’t worth it to me. It’s expensive, too.

  2. thecreme says:

    Cynthia, yes, I forgot that part. It does peel like the dickens. I guess if it’s worth it to you, then it’s worth the investment. When it was peeling (first 2-3 weeks) I was working my booth at a fashion tradeshow and I looked like a leper from the neck up. But I’m super happy with the results. thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

