Makeup Talk

Everyone’s got a friend who’s addicted to makeup. I’m sure you have one. Her foundation is always impeccable, she has a makeup bag you would kill for and forget trying to express interest in a new hot product cause more likely than not she’s tried it and swears by it, been using it for months, where have you been? Forget going into Sephora with her- it’s like taking a crack addict to, um, a place where they sell a whole lotta crack.

Meet Liz. Suffice it to say, she does a lot of crack. She also generously agreed to do a guest post on the very subject that thrills her to her very core.  Namely, mascara. If a building was on fire and myself and a wand of her favorite brand were trapped inside, I’m not quite sure I’d be alive right now. Enjoy.

When I was 12 years old, my uncle gave me my very first tube of mascara as a stocking stuffer for Christmas.  I ran to the bathroom to try it out and poked myself straight in the eye.  Upon second try, pure gorgeousness. And so my love of mascara was formed. Of course my mother, to prevent me from looking like a regular Lolita, told me no makeup until I was older.

Now, older, makeup is one of my main pleasures in life and mascara is my desert island product. Love, love, love it.  Seems like a strange obsession yes, but that black liquid gold makes my eyes pop and face light up.  Without it, I feel naked.

My usual tube of choice is DiorShow.  It’s perfect in every way.  It is one step away from fake eyelashes. My preferred makeup reseller of choice is Sephora and this is where I usually go to get this $24 tube of magic.  However, moving to Chicago and living far away from the nearest Sephora or other suitable makeup distributor without a car, has given me the chance to try out various pharmacy brands from my walkable neighborhood CVS.  The verdict is- some suck, but some (by L’Oreal) give me faith that beauty doesn’t need to cost a fortune.  These mascaras were out of sight.

L’Oreal Telescopic-3 out of 5 stars. This tube costs around $9 and comes in a nifty little bottle that looks kind of like a telescope.  Get it?  At first I was skeptical because the wand is topped with one of those tiny flimsy plastic brushes that looks like it won’t hold onto jack.  That would be incorrect.  The brush actually grabs on tight to the base of your lashes and stretches them to eternity.  I wish it gave me more volume, but overall a good product.

L’Oreal Voluminous- 4 out of 5 stars. DiorShow’s younger sister. It lengthened and plumped my lashed to perfection.  The big brush gets everything, even the little lashes near the inside of your eyes.  The formula goes on smooth and clump free and lasts all day.  The downside is that the formula dried out quicker in the tube than some of the other mascaras I have tried.  But for the four plus weeks I had it before it started to go, it was the closest pharmacy alternative to DiorShow that I have found. Divine at around $7.

So, try one, try them all, I think you’ll like ‘em.  And if you don’t, go get DiorShow.  It is worth the money my friends.  Trust me on this one.

This entry was posted in Beauty. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Makeup Talk

  1. thecreme says:

    Liz, I just saw something in a magazine – a new type of mascara. The first coat is blue and the top coat is rosy pink. They didn’t show what it looked like on a model, but I’m dying to know how this looks. The review said it wasn’t too punky, and just made your eyes glow rosy- have you seen it? I believe the magazine was naomi watts on the cover of…glamour? Could be. Not a magazine I read, so I don’t have it here. Have you seen it??? tried it???

    Great review btw!!

  2. tokyostargirl says:

    I’ve tried many mascaras, but never the Dior one. I guess b/c I’ve heard so much hype about it that I didn’t want to jump on the bandwagon.. hmmm.. maybe I should. =)

  3. Liz says:

    I have not tried this new hypercolor mascara you speak of, but rest assured I will. I’ll let you know how it turns out. I’m a huge fan of color mascaras in general. Not for everyday, but a little green or blue, really makes the eyes pop.

  4. Pingback: You Didn’t Know « Creme de la Mode

  5. Pingback: On Cars and Auntie Mame but Mostly Cars « Next Time On

Leave a Reply

