Portraits

In my former life, I was a painter.  I miss it.  I would get lost for days in a painting.  The smell of oils still makes me nostalgic. Art is one place that I will spend all my retirement money. I get lost in the intentions of the brush strokes of another artist’s paintings….what where they thinking?  How did they know how to get that lighting?  Some can capture a likeness in a few brush strokes. I’m the girl at the Getty museum that the guards have to warn to back up from the pieces, for fear my breath will spoil the fragile acidity of canvas.

Portraiture seems to me to be the purest form of painting.  Trying to capture the life in a human face is extremely difficult. Here are some beauty’s I’ve found:

Modera Hotel via Mstetson Design

Chuck Close is one of my favorite portrait artists.  How does he do that?

from the wonderful blog Paris Hotel Boutique.

By Francisco Clemente, from the movie Great Expectations.

And just to indulge our 7 readers…here’s one of mine from years ago.

This entry was posted in Art/Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Portraits

  1. Reed says:

    7 readers my arse!

    Your clever wit makes me wonder if you use it for evil as well. One can only hope…

  2. thecreme says:

    Oh trust me, there is evil. I just don’t blog about it. ; )

Leave a Reply

