The Lingering Effects of the Cosmo Quiz

I’m going to take a moment to express a rare, uncharacteristic, fiercely negative opinion on this, our lovely, shining platter of joy and goodness. I detest Cosmo.

Nothing to do with anything, but this image came up when I searched Google for "furious girl" and made me laugh.

Nothing to do with anything, but this image came up when I searched Google for "furious girl" and made me laugh.

I don’t really need to go into why I deplore this magazine, do I? Suffice it to say, I am a single girl who weighs slightly more than 120lbs and whose priorities don’t really extend to articles like “How Dirty is His Mind?” month after month. The world already revolves around men and I simply don’t believe my magazines should follow suit.

Having said that, I do have a uterus so naturally my teenaged girlhood was filled with Cosmo quizzes. And though the mature, adult version of myself no longer needs a magazine to tell me what kind of kisser I am, I will admit that in the deep trenches of my heart, I miss a good old-fashioned, completely self-involved and, yet startlingly accurate, personal quiz.

We all know by now that the act of decorating my apartment with seemingly no clue as to how to proceed has filled me with angst over the last few weeks. Therefore you can imagine my glee upon discovering the personal style quiz over at Mydeco.com*

I mean, how appropriately timed is THIS? Is there a guardian angel of interior design?

I’ve challenged Cones to emerge from her fur-lined cocoon of jewelery making and seashell collecting to take the quiz as well. I don’t know if this will work as her very protective Interns are keeping me at bay so she can concentrate on her own genius. I, for one, will be taking the quiz immediately and posting my results tomorrow. Are you excited? I’m very excited.

I feel obligated to point out that I found it because of my increasingly embarrassing infatuation with TiG, who covered it this morning.

This entry was posted in Interior Design. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

