Resort 09 Preview

God help me, I could only make it through 1278 of 2060 Resort ’09 Photos in one evening. My eyes are bleeding. I’ve never been a huge fan of Resort.  First, I may “summer” at a beach or two, but I definitely “winter” right here at home, or at some family function that requires way too much plaid in my mother’s attempt to evoke non-existent memories of us “wintering” on the English Countryside, instead of the San Fernando Valley, where we most likely were. Plaid, unless it’s done with tongue firmly planted in cheek, should steer far clear from the runways.

Secondly, the idea of resort is strange because the looks are not really geared towards a hawaiian vacation or trip to the bahamas.  It’s kind of a schitzophrenic mish-mash of everything the designers forgot to include in fall, and aren’t sure they want to include in spring.  

Regardless, I live in a H-O-T climate, so I can wear “Resort” pretty much year-round.  Here are some highlights.

Clockwise from top left: Jenni Kayne, Isaac Mizrahi, Jenni Kayne (lu-huv-ing the short trench…that J. Kayne is so talented), Jonathan Saunders

Clockwise from top left: Vena Cava, Cynthia Rowley, Temperley London, Jill Stuart

Clockwise from top left: Marchesa, Diane von Furstenberg, Missoni, Emanuel Ungaro  

Clockwise from top left: Jill Stuart, Akris, Ralph Lauren (not all together, clearly, but I dig the purse…are we really doing the matchy-matchy thing again? really?), Gucci (hitting all sorts of high notes in the past couple seasons, I might add.)

Doo.Ri (my most likely purchase), Badgley Mischka, Roberto Cavalli, Malandrino

Any of you “resorting” this summer? Do tell….

All images from Style.com

This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

