Have Drink, In Need of Mixer

Monday’s child is fair of face.
Tuesday’s child is full of grace.
Wednesday’s child is full of woe.
Thursday’s child has far to go.
Friday’s child is loving and giving.
Saturday’s child works hard for a living,
But the child who is born on the Sabbath Day
Is bonny and blithe and good and gay.

Great, thanks.

I have mixed emotions about Wednesdays. I’m not filled with bile, which is how I get when Tuesday rolls around. I don’t know why everyone complains about Monday- Tuesday is really the day when the weekend seems eternally far away and the universe conspires to dump a load of frustration on your lap. Full of grace my patootie.

So, Wednesday is naturally a step up. I mean, at least it’s closer. Right?

And yet… it’s still pretty sucky.

I want to like Wednesday. I mean, I was born on a Wednesday and I’m moderately awesome. And Project Runway is on Wednesdays. And any day you get to see Tim Gunn puckered with concern is a good day indeed.

Sigh. Do you see the confusion here? How can I be expected to go about the day and do all of my mundane Ollie-like-things without having a clear reading on whether or not Wednesdays suck or rule?

The only thing I can do then, really, is to drown myself in the clarity of mixed-up worlds. Which means I need collages. And since I’m miles away from decoupage glue and stacks of magazines as big as my full-of-woe head, I need the work of pros. Collage artistes. I need a dose of Scrapiteria.

Funnily enough, Cones brought up collages to me yesterday. I forget why- sometimes she rambles between her morning cups. So I sent her this blog. And generally a good rule of thumb is that if it’s good enough to send to Cones, it’s good enough to review for the masses.

Can we just talk about how incredible these collagists are?

The act of pulling apart pieces that are overlooked on their own…

And arranging them together to create something new…

That now has its own voice and point of view and purpose…

At least we know there’s a few people out there capable of being constructive with their time.

God knows I’m a lost cause. If anyone needs me, I’ll be over here considering the alternative Wednesday rhyme: “Wednesday’s child will fear no foe.”

Damn right, Wikipedia. Damn right.

About Scrapiteria: Scrapiteria is made up of collagists who work in the traditional cut and paste method. Each week, one of the members posts a new theme which we all intrepret in our own way. (Collages courtesy of Scrapiteria (lady on planet and lady with red rose), Lisa Eisenbrey (lady in the city), Craig Howarth (dude in car) and can’t find the last one- forgive me)

P.S. Someone just told me Shakira has an IQ of 140 and the fact that they knew that and brought it up randomly really makes me happy. And FOX is coming out with an American version of the Human Tetris Game. The day is looking up already.

Update: 2:22PM Just to let you know how dreaded Wednesday is progressing. Had to go to post office again (thumbs down), saw professional-looking man on street wearing a fanny back aka “manny pack” which wait that sounds gross (thumbs way down), got to post office and saw they have an automated postage machine which means I no longer have to face the mean postal workers and listen to them disparage me for putting the label in the wrong place and my shoddy packing job (thumb way up).

This entry was posted in Art/Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Have Drink, In Need of Mixer

  1. Persephone says:

    How annoying is it when you get to Wednesday and someone in your office feels compelled to shout, “HUMP DAY!”? I don’t see anything in the poem about Wednesday being “Hump Day.”

    Those collages are rad.

  2. ollieoof says:

    Dammit, how could I go an entire post without using the word “hump”? That’s a crime within itself.

Leave a Reply

